NaturaLawn of America Announces 2021 Dan Collins Scholarship Winners

Three college-bound high school graduated from around the country received educational funds totaling $7,000

Autumn Moore
Autumn Moore
NaturaLawn of America
Franchising Naturlawn Of Ameri 11396141

NaturaLawn of America has announced the winners of the annual Dan Collins Scholarship Award, providing three college-bound high school graduates with funds to assist in educational expenses.

First place recipient Autumn Moore, of Perry County, Pa., was announced as the first place award recipient, receiving a $4,000 scholarship. Matt Tengtrakool, of Middlesex County, Ma., was selected as the award’s second place recipient, and received a $2,000 scholarship. Third place recipient Lydia Gilpin, of Burke County, Ga., received a $1,000 scholarship award.

The NaturaLawn of America Dan Collins Scholarship was established in 2017 in memory of Dan Collins, a NaturaLawn of America franchise owner from Richmond, Va. who passed away from cancer in 2005. Collins was known for his kind heart and “larger-than-life,” gentlemanly manner. The scholarship named in his honor seeks to recognize high school or undergraduate students who exhibit similar generosity of character and goodwill.

The 2021 selection process proved competitive, with applicants from over 30 states and multiple countries.

“We are so pleased to assist these very deserving young adults in realizing their educational goals and easing the cost of the journey ahead of them,” says Phil Catron, president and founder of NaturaLawn of America. “We’re eager to follow their paths and are sure they will achieve great success in their future endeavors.”

First place winner Autumn Moore hopes to explore the fields of plant science and horticulture, contributing to her previous dual-enrollment studies of environmental resource management and biology through Penn State. Matt Tengtrakool will attend Harvard University in the fall of 2021 to study environmental studies and policy, while Lydia Gilpin will attend Texas Christian University to pursue her degree in elementary education.